October 01, 2011

Ginger wine

Today the girls and I went to the Wine Festival in Yorktown. I'd never been to one and didn't really know what to expect, but it was pretty sweet! It truly was unlimited, all you can drink samples. And we had our fair share of samples! I've discovered that I definitely prefer my wine sweet and above all else I'll take an excellent sangria. I was determined not to spend any money because I'm not really a big wine drinker, but I broke down and bought two bottles to mix into a sangria. It's a ginger wine and a blackberry wine set and it is damn good. You can really taste the ginger in the one. I don't know if I could drink a whole glass of it without mixing. Also, someone had wine jello shooters. Slightly frozen. Absolutely delicious!

I fell asleep on the car ride home. I don't know if it was the wine or from working so early this weekend but when we went over to Math's apartment to watch Madagascar Penguins I only made it through the first short before passing out for an hour and a half. She has the most comfortable couch in the world!

I wish I didn't work in the morning, but more than that I wish Math's sex toy party was tonight instead of tomorrow night. Okay, it's actually being thrown by her roommate. I'm not picky about the details, but tonight would be so much better. That way tomorrow after the Newport News Fall Festival I could just relax and not worry about going out. In truth, I have a cute date idea for TJ and tomorrow would just have been better for it than Monday. I guess either day doesn't matter, but I think I'll actually be going over there tomorrow and that's why I'd prefer to head over earlier than after 8. What are we going to do? Watch a movie probably. Maybe I should just wait til Monday...

Anyway, the boy has invited me over the past three days in a row. And I've chosen not to come. This is mostly because of work, but not seeing each other is still not seeing each other, especially when I'm usually able to go over whenever he invites me. I kind of like this turn of events where I'm not available to meet his every beck and call, but at the same time I find it extremely annoying that the more I ignore him the more attention he pays to me and the more he wants to hang out. I suppose that is my intention. I said I was going to change the game up and that's what I've done. But still. Why can't you already just want to hang out with me, you know? Why do we have to play the stupid dating game? But I suppose the more distracted I become, the less concerned I am about the whole ordeal and the more enjoyable our little time together becomes. We probably used to see each other five days a week. That has dropped to once or twice. I admit it's strange not seeing him so frequently, but it's a good thing I suppose.

My date idea isn't a real going out type of date, but a staying at home one since I'm trying not to eat out all the time anymore (I did decently well at the vegetarian thing today, but I did have a little bit of meat; at least I ate a salad for lunch yesterday!). I want to cook together! We haven't done that in a hot minute. Since this week the weather is going down to the enjoyable sixties, I was thinking about doing a soup. He's been talking about stew and I've been craving it so why not? I also want to carve pumpkins! Wouldn't that be cute? Maybe I'll even get a hair up my butt and make some sort of pumpkin soup...but I'll probably just cook up the seeds and toss the flesh. See, diary? Wouldn't that be a lovely Sunday? But no! I have to go to a sex toy party. I would skip it...but then Math would be mad at me. If she brings the most people she gets like 35% off her order. But Artist is already bailing to go on a spontaneous date. This is good for me because it means Math doesn't have enough people anyway because some girl is bringing 5 people. It's bad for me because I would feel guilty also ditching her for a boy. Not that she hasn't done the same. Hmmm. I'll think about it...

My poor wallet. I'm spending too much money. I also need to shuck out a huge chunk of change for the GRE. Gross. Not to mention buy my car if I can ever make it out to Suffolk. Another good reason to stop eating out. If I just cleaned out the fridge I could buy groceries. My parents have let it get so grody. Too bad I don't have a micro one in my room like when I lived in the dorms. I wonder how this Fall Fest tomorrow will be? Maybe I should leave my wallet at home!

I do enjoy all these random texts I'm suddenly getting from TJ. Like how he decided to tell me he and his brother didn't go out last night without me after all. Or how he wants to get a pig. Or how next week he won't be gone for training in Boston for his job. It's not by any means a great number of texts, but in all honesty I'm not much of a texter anyway. I enjoy receiving them, sure, but after I get to know someone I don't really text a lot. A couple times a day and I'm good. I don't have the constant need to keep tabs on someone or them to keep tabs on me.

scullerymaid at 8:15 p.m.

pots | pans