September 26, 2011

Woodchuck

I can't believe it's almost October- my favorite month! Which means I need to get crackin' on this grad school stuff. Washington's deadline is December (maybe my favorite month) 15th. Yikes! I need to hurry up and take the silly GRE, get my letters of recommendation, and figure out what program I want to get into. Anthropology seems like it would be the easiest road but maybe I should give Native American studies a shot. I mean, if I do go into anthropology and have to do an ethnography, I'd rather do it here in the states on Indians than travel to a non-western country. There's so much culture right here in our back yard! I don't want to go anywhere else. I'm nervous about applying to a Comm program even though I really want to study interpersonal comm, attraction, and relationship dynamics. I love analyzing relationships. And I don't mean just romantic, but platonic ones too. I just find it so fascinating how some people have such a great connection and other people don't get along at all. Popeguy and I discuss the dynamics in our circle of friends all the time.

My sickness is still here. Gross. My nose is driving me crazy! But at least I'm not held up in bed, though I spent a good chunk of today sleeping before work. Tonight was a good night at work, too, but the manager in charge of scheduling gave me mostlY opening shifts this week. Does he not understand that I am not a morning person? Besides that, everyone knows that I'm beast at closing. But this weekend I did opens and I guess he liked the job I did. Phooey! I don't even want to think about all the mornings I have to rise before the sun :-(

It really sucks. I don't get to stay up late or sleep in. But at least he messes everyone's schedule up. I don't understand why he's in charge of scheduling. Hopefully after this week I'll go back to closing.

Next week is fall fest and I'm so excited. I've never been! This weekend was the Chickahominy pow wow but I didn't get to go because of work. I think this is the first year I've missed it...but I can't remember if I went last year or not. Hmmm

I really can't wait to get my car. There's a dealer selling a Pathfinder out in Suffolk. It's not quite as cheap as the one I looked at yesterday, but hopefully there aren't any rips in the seat. It wasn't even a very big rip but I can't get over it. That car is just not my car. I didn't feel anything, you know?

scullerymaid at 12:48 a.m.

pots | pans