June 12, 2011

Tips!

Today was my third day of training at Ruby's...which means I had to go in for about three hours and follow my trainer around. For the most part, I really like this job. I enjoy being a server. Today I felt a little overwhelmed when I first got there, but after new tables started arriving I was fine. I need to brush up on the menu some more. and of course, it's a hassle finding all the food items on the computer but both these things will come with time. Because we were busy my trainer gave me a table of my very own. She didn't shadow me or anything. They were a very nice couple, easy to please and take care of. They also left me a $10 tip on like a $30-35 bill. Oh yeah! I got this in the bag baby- my first solo solo table and I got a decent tip! Of course, I didn't get to keep it because I'm only in training but I felt very proud of myself. I can do this and I will excel. I just need to get on the ball with learning the menu. But I think I really am going to like it here. I'm telling you, I was born to be in a restaurant, and one day I will have my own. (Or I'll just go to grad school for some random thing like communication between something or another)

I haven't talked to SB about possibly not moving yet. The truth is I'm scared to tell her. I've never had any kind of conflict with her and I don't know how to approach the situation. Well, I know I just have to be straight forward and honest with her. I'm just dreading the whole ordeal!

I was really nervous about being late for work though. Somehow I still managed to spend the weekend with TJ and his friends and the boys talked me into going to Carolina today to the track. I only had to be back in Newport News by 5! But we managed it. It was close for my liking, but I was still a few minutes early.

Life is good (except for my moving ordeal)

scullerymaid at 9:16 p.m.

pots | pans