June 06, 2011

Goal oriented

Tomorrow I start at the restaurant. I don't know why I'm so nervous. But I was super nervous when I started at Panera, too. So I suppose nerves are a good thing. I just don't want to screw up, which is a ridiculous fear to have because I've never screwed up anything in my life. I just hope I perfrom my job well. And I think I will. I mean, I know food. I know that eating out is all about the experience and a server can make or break that. Yesterday TJ and I went out for breakfast and had a horrible waitress. She was nice enough, but didn't interact with us at all. It was pretty sad. It wasn't even a large restaurant and they weren't that busy.

I don't want people to look back and say that I ruined their dinner. I want to excell at this. This is my test to see if I really want to get into food or not. If I can handle a full service restaurant with flying colors, I might just apply at a catering company. Maybe even a real bakery that does big events like weddings. This could just be all talk, but it's an idea.

I'm trying to set goals for myself. People are still pushing me towards grad school, and I may very well be going, but I'm ready to settle down. I want to be able to stand on my own two feet and not have any worries. In three years, I want to start looking at homes, think about getting married, pop out some babies. It might sound old fashioned, but I've always been family oriented. Don't mistake me for some housewife with no ambition because that's not the case. I want to be an entrepreneur one day and own my own shop. So I need to get on the ball and start figuring things out now. No more living from paycheck to paycheck. Now that I'm out of school I never want to live like that again.

Bless my parents, but I don't want to be as unstable as they are. I'm going to have my own home and a steady job. I just have to get my foot in the door and this is a start.

scullerymaid at 12:18 p.m.

pots | pans