May 23, 2011

Steaks and bikes

This my friends, has been a wonderful and unexpected weekend. Really, I'm pretty much on cloud 9. Let's begin with Thursday, shall we?

There I was alone in my room, hungry and bored. I was thinking about whipping up some ramen and popping in a movie when Skinny Boy started texting me (and since I know how he feels about his weight, we shall refer to him as TJ). So TJ began texting me as he is prone to do. In fact, I'm positive that he texts me just about every day and has been doing so for quite some time now. But that is besides the point. It was late and I told him my plan of watching a movie before bed when he invited me over. I was a littler surprised at the request and hesitant due to the hour, but I decided to go anyway. Why not? So that's what I did. I hopped into Amalthea, drove over to Norfolk, and we had a very lovely evening of drinking beer, cuddling, and watching Despicable Me.

Then he invited me to come over to a steak-off he and his brothers were having on Friday. Huh...? He wanted me to hang out with his brothers? And worse than his brothers, his best friends, too? Obviously, he wanted me to suffer a slow, painful death from awkward social interactions. I mean, he wanted me to meet his peeps and we had only gone out/hung out three times at this point. He was crazy. Absolutely mad. So I politely declined and avoided the subject. Then Friday came along as it tends to do...and he began his attack! Persuasion seems to be something he is good at, and if persausion isn't to thank, then persistence sure is. He would not leave me alone about it. And to top things off, he also wanted me to drive with him and his friends to Carolina so they could go riding on their bikes. Seriously? Seriously! At this point I was definitely reconsidering this relationship. Did I not make it clear to him that I was shy and quiet and potentially awkward and wanted to get to know him better before I started meeting people...

But I must admit, the idea did intrigue, as does this man. No one has ever wanted me to meet people before. Granted, I've mostly gone out with military men whose families are states away, but I've never even met someone's friends before. So the fact that he wanted to bring me along did perk my curiosity. And he wanted me to go hang with them to Carolina, which would involve a two hour drive of the two of us together in a car. What can I say? My sense of adventure out-won my introverted hesitation and that night I cleaned myself up to meet these brothers and friends.

And it was an awesome cookout. TJ's steak came out on the bottom, but I enjoyed eating it. I was too late to try the winning steak, though. But boy was I nervous when I arrived at his house! I was a sack of shaking nerves. But on the walk to his brother's house (they live about two blocks away from each other) he calmed me down. Plus he shoved some whiskey into my hand as soon as we got there. Smart boy, that one. But it was a good night

The next day was pretty fun, too. I got myself a little burn on my shoulders and arms from being in the hot sun all day, but it was worth getting up close and personal with some dirt bikes. I didn't get to ride (as if I know how!), but it was fun to watch them take off and do jumps and stuff. I really enjoyed myself. And TJ's friends were pretty cool. I would chill with them again. Oh, and of course TJ and I got to know each other a little better, which is a plus. I will admit he is growing on me, even if I could crush him with my pinky toe. I like how affectionate he can be, something new for me. He's always touching me. Or giving me little pecks. And it's nice. I could get used to that. He really is a nice guy. Let's not forget that we've managed to go on multiple dates and we spent a whole weekend together. I could be crazy, but that's supposed to be a good thing, right? He still talks to me and wants to take me to the movies on Wednesday. That's...good? I keep waiting for him to back out, but I don't think he will. Ha, I think I liven him up a bit- he always complains how he feels like an old man.

There was an awkward moment. When we got back from the track on Saturday his parents randomly showed up. Apparently they had been eating dinner at his brother's house and decided to stop by to say hi. Well, neither TJ nor I were quick on our feet and had no idea how to introduce me. Talk about bad timing! Then later we had an awkward talk about what we were and where we were headed- a talk neither one of us were ready for. So I think we're just going to keep doing what we've been doing and go with the flow.

But like I said, he's growing on me. I do like spending time with him. We can both be quiet at times, but that's something he doesn't seem to mind so I'm not going to trouble myself. And the affection he showers on me is a welcome change of pace. I just don't want to get all excited just yet.

But that beg the question- what am I going to do about Zach? And what's going to happen when I move to Richmond? But that's thinking too far ahead, I know. Right now, I just need to enjoy our movie nights and wrestle with my conscience.

I also went to my cousin's graduation today and that turned out pretty nice. It began a little hectic because she went to a GIANT school and my navigation skills are a little off. But where there's a wheelchair, there is a way and I was pushing Granny along while Grandma trailed along. It might have taken us a little longer to reach our destination, but when people see an elderly woman in a wheelchair they seem to ask no questions. Good thing for us since we didn't have our tickets to get in! Then we all went to lunch at this bagel joint and, once again, that was all she wrote.

Good weekend. Very good weekend. I think tomorrow I'm going to go apply at this Mongolian grill. Hopefully I can get that as a summer job. You know, so I have money in the bank again. I need to budget and work on a savings plan.

Also, random note. I hate kitty litter. I even got a new box for Greta, one of the ones with a lid in the hopes that the smell would decrease. Wrong! I think it actually increased. The cat has a rotten stomach. Eww

scullerymaid at 1:42 a.m.

pots | pans