May 19, 2011

Body image

Speaking of insecurities about weight, I've been talking to this one guy a little bit. He's really nice, about my height...and super skinny. Talk about a high metabolism! And three times he has apologized to me for being so skinny. I'll be the first to say that his size does intimidate me a little. I feel like a giant next to him wear Zach makes me feel like a dwarf. I have a slight fear of accidentally crushing this guy if I sit too close to him. But why should he apologize for being skinny? He's an active person. If he's sorry for being so small, should I apologize for not being a skinny minny? I think not.

I may not have the perfect body. I don't have abs like a soccer player and my cheeks are round. But I'm healthy. I can run two miles, hike 5 mile long trails, and I have the muscular legs of an athlete; I don't know the meaning of cellulite. I am, however, a little top heavy. I got myself some belly going on. But I refuse to apologize for it. Why should I apologize for the way I look? Even if it isn't the most ideal body in the world, it's mine- the only one I got- and I will not feel shame for it. I work on the areas that I don't like as much, but that doesn't mean there is something wrong with my body.

I was taken so aback when he said that. This skinny skinny boy was so insecure about being skinny. It just goes to show how the tables can be turned. Really thin people can have just as much of an insecurity about their weight as really fat people. I don't agree with his self image because it makes me put my own self image into question, but for him to say that really kind of opened my eyes and reminded me that there is another end to the spectrum.

Why does everyone seem so unhappy with their bodies these days?

scullerymaid at 1:18 a.m.

pots | pans