April 24, 2011

Prayers

I almost forgot!

Because the menfolk in my family are stubborn, I was made to say prayer today at Easter dinner. And I felt incredibly uncomfortable because I don't pray all that often and when I do it's not outloud and in front of other people. My prayers are also very informal. So since my uncle, brother, and then mother refused to conduct the prayer, my grandma and granny stopped their eyes on me; I was a perfect candidate. How could I refuse them? Needless to say, I stumbled my way through it, uncertain of what to say, and developed a slight resentment toward the men in our family. Here they are given this great amount of by the matrons of the family and I can barely understand why. What do they really do other than complain...not that the womenfolk don't do their share of complaining.

I just annoyed me that this "male" responsibility was given me because they wouldn't take it. I wonder why granny or grandma couldn't just say the prayer?

scullerymaid at 11:44 p.m.

pots | pans