April 25, 2011

Stupid is...

You know what really pisses me off? Cocky bastards that think just because they are from the "deep" south it gives them a right to look down on us Virginians. It is so annoying! I never knew it annoyed me so much, but it really does. People think because we border the northern states that we don't know anything about southern hospitality and that we are clearly city slickers.

This week I've been called a city girl twice and it totally stopped me in my tracks. What do this people really know? Just because in Virginia we can manage to talk without a twang it makes us uncountry. I spent the majority of my childhood on my grandma's property...who lives out in the middle of nowhere. The area is being slightly developed now, but when I was a little girl it was just a bunch of corn and peanut fields. And even if her farm wasn't far enough in the boondocks for some, that doesn't mean their living style wasn't more on the country side than the city side. In fact, I don't think my granny would know what to do with herself in a city setting. And I grew up under her thumb all those times my parents moved back out there. It wasn't til high school that we finally settled down in suburbia.

It just drives me crazy how someone can just place judgment on me like that so quickly when my childhood was spent roaming barefoot through freshly tilled fields, learning not to be frightened by something as trivial as a bug, driving down back roads that sometimes were nothing more than a bit of dirt and a bit of gravel, and knowing that my business could be spread across the county quicker than fire. Seriously, just because I know how to speak properly does not mean I belong in the city. My heart yearns to be back in the country more than anything else. Cities make me very uncomfortable. I'd rather get lost on one of those dirt roads in the middle of nowhere than try and navigate my way through one way streets.

Oh, and one of those guys had the nerve to ask why someone like me would drive a Pathfinder. Excuse me? I'd sooner drive a monster truck that I'm too short to hop up into than some little sedan or box car (camaros excluded of course).

People are so ridiculous! I don't know why it bothers me so, but it really does. I suppose because it's a part of my personal identity, something we're learning about in my cross cultural awareness class, so it makes me a little more sensitive when people attack it. Those boys can just stay in Oklahoma and Alabama where they belong. All over a lack of an accent, too! I guarantee, you put me in the right setting and I can develop a nice little twang without even realizing it...especially since I study language in the first place!

scullerymaid at 11:00 p.m.

pots | pans