April 21, 2011

The Ugly Duckling

Today someone has called me beautiful and another someone has called me gorgeous. Both of these complements came form unexpected sources. Sometimes such statements catch me by surprise. The other week in my Children's Literature class we were doing a section of fairy tales and read The Ugly Ducking. That's what I feel like. I feel like for years I was stuck in this...not necessarily ugly phase, but I never thought of myself as this attractive creature people are telling me that I am. Then a couple summers ago I sort of blossomed! I ate a little better and became more active. My view of the world shifted and I became bolder. I no longer hid myself behind baggy clothes and friends that were louder than myself. Essentially, I grew up. I left the duckling behind and became the swan.

But sometimes I still feel like the awkward duckling. Sometimes I can be unsure of myself. We all know that's crazy talk. I'll hold my head high until the day I die.

scullerymaid at 12:01 a.m.

pots | pans