August 23, 2009

A fresh beginning

Ah, I'm so excited!

I've been trying to figure out what to do about housing next year. There's no way in hell I'm staying in this house.The reasons:

1. Cleaning. It's filthy. Being there makes me feel dirty and I just can't deal with it. I clean up messes when I'm not even there long enough to make a mess. And I know it'a not going to get better. When people use five glasses each a day and leave out cooked pasta for a week on the stove, there's no hope.

2. Intensity. I love Mandy. She's one of my really good frineds. When I need to talk about something, she is the best to talk to. She's supportive and understanding. But she's really intense. And sometimes it can be overwhelming. Not like I'm walking on eggshells, but I'm def on guard sometimes. Like I can't completely relax. Maybe it's because I don't like working with her and then seeing her at home and vice versa.

3. Popeguy. He's hellbent on moving out too. And it would be weird living there without him. Like there would be this empty space. I'd run down to his room and it wouldn't be his room. I'm already facing a semester there without him. I think that's all I really want to face.

So because of this I was going to move in with the Twins in the apartment on campus. But I've come to the conclusion that spending too much time with them is a hazard to one's sanity. They are perfect for shopping with, eating with, and just general hanging out with. But I'm not so sure about living with. Plus, living on campus is so much more expensive. A good $3000/4000 more expensive.

I think my dilema is clear. Didn't want to live in the house or with the Twins. What were my options?

Popeguy. We could live together. Why not? We're best friends. We have similar tastes. We could do it. Of course, the summer has been rough. And I knew he wanted to live alone. He's very independent. But together, it would be cheaper. And we wouldn't really encroach on each other's space. It would be fine, really it would. But still, I was terrified he would say no. So I compiled this list of good reasons to live together. I was even willing to let this semester be our "test" to see if we went back to fighting.

I approached him in the bathroom. I don't know why. He was shaving and we were just talking and it seemed like the perfect moment. So with a shaking voice and awkward smile, I said it.

"Move in with me."

And to my surprise and joy, he said yes!

scullerymaid at 6:32 p.m.

pots | pans