December 28, 2007

It's not your life

Oh, I almost forgot. Grandma also thinks I'm not expanding enough. That all my friends from college are also my high school friends.

First of all, the friends that I have now, weren't really my friends in high school. They were more like acquaintances. And they are not the only friends I have. I just hang out with them a lot. And that's how it works anyway. You don't get to know people in your class that well, though those are the other people I am friends with.

I'm not isolated. I'm shy and quiet. Did she think going to college would miraculously "cure" me of these attributes? That suddenly I'd be able to make friends faster? Look at the people whom I consider my closest now: Popeguy, Peace, Artist, Math, and Snortgiggles. It was after high school that we took to each other. Sure, now we wish we had been closer, but we weren't and now are.

So it's going to be a little while before I have really good friends in college. Stop pretending that you know how I work. It took years even for Romania and I to become how we are, and she's my best friends. We can be a part for a whole year, and still pick up like a day hasn't gone by (which by the way is the best kind of friend you can hope for). We understand each other, but it didn't happen overnight. In 5th grade, we weren't friends. In 7th grade, we hung out because everyone hung out. That's what happens in a Catholic school. Then in 10th grade, we didn't even go to the same schools any more. Hadn�t for a few years, but somehow we became friends. And now we mean the world to each other. When something happens or we need advice, we call each other, even if we haven't spoken in a few months.

So just stop it. I don't just make friends. It's a process. I have to get to know someone and they have to get to know me. And then it's wonderful and we'll be together for life.

Leave me alone. It's my life, not yours.

scullerymaid at 1:48 p.m.

pots | pans