December 22, 2007

It hits you... like lightening!

You know what I wonder? Hanging out with my friends have made me wonder a lot of things, and the most recent is adulthood.

When do we cross that barrier from childhood to adulthood. I surely don't remember when I crossed it but I feel like I've definitely crossed it. Of course, there's a part of me that will always be a child. Like the part that loves classic Disney and has a strange fascination with fairies. The part that loves Christmas trees and snow and bubbles. And the part of me that can always go running to mama for advice, even if you have differing opinions.

But when is it that talking about sex no longer makes us blush and want to leave the room? When is it that cursing, those forbidden words, are no longer forbidden but rather natural. When is it that we start spending our own money and paying our own bills and not asking our parents to pick up the tabs?

At least once a day something happens that makes me realize I'm an adult now. Buying shampoo and conditioner. Hearing my 60 year old grandma crack a sex joke. Saying shit. Having a sophisticated and philosophical dinner with wine...

...which I haven't actually gone to yet. It's on Sunday night and I have no idea what to bring. What do you serve with wine? I don't know. A dip? Some sort of dessert? Maybe. Or maybe I'll just help cook what's already being cooked. But they said the more the better. Everyone does love my pumpkin cheesecake...Hmmm

Here's to adulthood!

Oh yeah. I hung out with Artist and Math tonight. I manged to hide the fact that I was desperately sick and have a pretty good time. We ate stuffed crust (finally!), played bomberman (love this game!), and watched Knocked UP (not quite as funny as I was expecting...) Oh, and they're trying to convince me to dorm with them. Yeah, I don't know if I can do that. I love those two girls to death, but they haven't seen me in my foulest mood and I'm a little scred for them to. But if I get an apartment with Popeguy I own't have to worry about saying yes or no... though I'd probably end up saying yes. Yikes!

Guess we'll see how everything goes. Be a FLOW-ER!

scullerymaid at 12:29 a.m.

pots | pans