August 09, 2007

OBX

I look like a radish! My face, shoulders, and chest are burnt. I even put on sunblock. But that's okay I suppose. In a couple of days the pain and red will turn into a luscious tan as Romania says.

Anyway, I went to Nags Head in North Carolina for the first time with Romania's family. Honestly, I don't like going to the beach (I think the sand just turns me off) and once you've seen one beach, you've seen them all, but I enjoyed myself.

We left really late Monday night. I wanna say we got in around midnight. Romania, Korea, Idiot- I mean Boy (K's boyfriend), and I shared a room. What a nightmare! I snore. Not nearly as bad as I used to now that I've got my tonsils out, but apparently I'm not exactly silent now. Well, Korea likes to go on... and on... and on about it. I slept in the bed next to Romania and she said it didn't bother her. But once Korea gets going, there's no shutting her up. How many times did I hear her call my name in the night and threaten to punch me (like she could! Ha!). So I took to getting up at six and going down to the beach. It was nice. The first day Romania came with me and we grabbed some McDonald's for breakfast, went swimming in the pool, and laid out. This morning I took a nap on the deck that leads to the ocean, read some HP, had myself some breakfast, and exercised in the pool since I had it all to myself so early in the morning. It was nice.

Romania doesn't see how I could've gone to the hotel restaurant by myself. It doesn't bother me, really. I don't need a gaggle of girl behind me when I go to the bathroom, and when the restaurant is empty anyway and offers a cheap buffet, why not enjoy it while everyone else is asleep?

Anyway, the past two days consisted of pool, tanning n the deck, swimming in the ocean, de-sanding ourselves in the pool after showering outside, more tanning, and so on. It was a continuous process. Romania can't do one activity for more than 20 minutes. Just kidding. It just seemed like we were constantly going from one to the other. But I still had a good time. I'm glad I went.

Oh, but how I abhor Korea. And her dim-witted boyfriend. He is a little suck up know-it-all who has an answer for everything. And if you poke a little fun? He develops a serious attitude problem! And Korea! She's always been a whinny, complaining, bossy, self-centered girl anyway. But I have good news. She no longer intimidates me. I see how pointless it is. She doesn't deserve my respect or my fear. Plus, she is maybe 1/16 of my size. There really isn't anything to be afraid of, especially that terrible mouth of hers.

She made me so mad. Boy had left the hotel room and when he came back, I was the one closest to open the door for him. Well, I made a little joke as if I didn't know who he was (when I asked who it was, he gave the wrong name anyway). Well, when I finally opened the door, his phone was ringing and it looked like to me that he was walking away to answer it. I did not slam the door in his face, as Korea accused me of doing, which I assume he told her since he disappeared for a while (thinking I slammed the door in his face). Well I didn't. It's not my fault that when I opened it he wasn't fast enough to come in. He had a good 7-10 seconds to come in before it swung back on it's own. Why didn't he come in? Then why didn't he knock again. Really! Why would I do that purposefully? And Korea had the nerve to lecture me.

Then later she and Romania had a row and she threatened not to take us home. Half-way on our way back she got mad at Romania for who knows what and said she was going to kick her out or that I could take her home when she dropped me off. Hello? No car! Then she told me I could get out, too. Like she could make me get out.

So I am through with Korea. I've always put up with her for the sake of Romania, but I am an adult now, on my way to college, and she is not worth my time.

Besides the trip back home, my mini-vacation was pretty good. I'm glad

scullerymaid at 12:30 a.m.

pots | pans