July 03, 2007

A shadow

My brother is a tyrant in our home. He yells and screams and everyone bends to his will. I don't know why his friends put up with him. I don't know why we put up with him. As a child, I would've been beat, a bar of soap shoved into my mouth, if I did and said the things that he says and does. But he goes unpunished. I know why. Because he's the last son. The one that survived. He must be protected and babied. Well, I am ashamed of him. Yes, he has his good moments. When he acts like my little brother, and not some high and mighty king. But it's not enough. There is a wickedness growing inside of him and we're only allowing it to grow even more. I'd hate to see what kind of an adult he'll become. But maybe there's hope. I'm leaving. I won't be there to watch over him. He's going to have to take up some of my responsibilities. And when he refuses, Mom and Dad are going to have to break down and make him listen.

What he really needs is a good whooping, a spoonful of vinegar, and a long grounding. Too bad it'll never happen.

scullerymaid at 5:17 p.m.

pots | pans