April 14, 2006

Day 14

Today we left the ship and went back to Athens. But this time, we were closer to the heart of the city and within walking distance of the Plaka. So we were able to do some last minute shopping. I enjoyed my last Baklava and practice more of my Greek. I bought some worry beads for myself at this one little shop and said "Efharisto" (thank you) upon leaving. It was really neat because, after speaking his native language, the vender started asking me all kinds of questions: where are you from? do you speak greek? etc, etc. Unfortunately for me, in five minutes we have to meet up with our tour director so had to cut our conversation short. It was quite enjoyable and I wish I had had more time to talk with him.

Tonight was our Greek Evening; a night spent at a local tavern with traditional Greek dancing. It was one of my favorite nights. And the decor was awesome. Murals of Dionysus and nymphs and satyrs were painted on the walls; the chandeliers were covered with grapes and vines. I wish I had taken my manual camera with me. I took pictures with my digital, and they were just of poor quality. Which means I'll just have to find that tavern when I'm next in Athens. And the Souvlaki was the best I'd ever tasted! At least I assume it was Souvlaki. That's what it looked like to me. I also tried some of the famous Greek wine, but not being much of a drinker, or rather not being a drinker at all, it didn't have much appeal to me. But at least now I can say I tired it.

So my last night in Greece was a perfect ending to a perfect week. And I can honestly say that I've fallen in love with Greece, reccomend that anyone who has a chance to go does, and plan on returning someday. Yeah, I've definitely decided that school is a perfect excuse to go. What better way to expand my culinary genius than studying in Europe!?

scullerymaid at 10:08 p.m.

pots | pans