April 10-13, 2006

Days 5-8

The cruise lasted four days.

Stop 1:
Mykonos, Greece.

In my opinion, this was the picturesque village. White-washed houses with blue shutters and the such. It was absolutely magical. And the town is a maze. In the days of pirates, the island was constantly raided, so they transformed it into a maze so that the pirates couldn't find them when they hid. And they have a place called "Little Venice" where the buildings are collapsing into the water. Very cool.

Stop 2:
Kusadasi, Turkey.
In Kusadasi we visited the ancient city of Ephesus, very important in Biblical history. I want to say that it's in Acts 19, but I can't be certain. I've yet to look it up.
We went to this store where they make rugs and they gave us an awesome presentation as we sipped on apple tea. It was delicious. I bought two boxes. I also strutted my spanish skills. In the bazarre, this guy wouldn't leave me alone to buy something, so I told him that I didn't understand what he was saying in spanish: "Lo siento, pero no entiendo." I'm sorry, but I don't understand. And then the man strutted his spanish skills. I was quick to make my exit.
I did buy a kashmere shawl at a very good price. I got to jew for it, not chew. Haha. Inside joke!

Stop 3:
Patmos, Greece.
This is where Saint John wrote the book of Revelations. It was quite amazing. I actually went to the grotto, into the very cave where God spoke to him. In the cave roof is a crack that splits in three at the end. Supposedly this crack formed when God spoke, the the end represents the Trinity. I didn't get to go to the Monestary. Next time.
The Greek Orthodox Church is very interesting, by the way.

Stop 4:
Rhodes (Rhodos), Greece.
This was the medieval island. It's surrounded by a great stone wall. I felt like I was in Italy (not that I've ever been; Next year!). But it's no surprise. I think that the Italians were there a few generations ago. The tour guide told us that all the grandparents can speak perfect Italian. The was also a castle!
Later we went outside the city to the water. I've yet to check if it was the Mediterranean or the Aegean. But I put my feet in it. I also did some serious climbing on the rocks until I was at the top and could see across the water for miles. Truly amazing.

Stop 5:
Crete, Greece.
This was the least impressive place. We did get to see the ruins of the Minoans, but in all honesty it wasn't all that exciting. Then we went to museum. K says that next time he'll arrange a private tour instead of following the one reccomended by the cruise.

Stop 6:
Santorini, Greece.
I loved Santorini. The only way to the top of this volcanic, cresent shaped island (called the Caldera or cauldron) is by cable car or... donkey! I rode a donkey all the way up and loved it. They were actually mules, but what's it matter. Unfortunately I had to ride the cable car down. Next time I'm taking the donkey. I didn't really get to see the actual island all that much. Next time. And there will be a next time.

Then back to Athens.

One thing I loved about the cruise was the culture. Anywhere you went, you were sure to hear at least 5 different languages. Quite a few times I was asked if I was Greek, Italian, or Spanish. One man even began talking to me in Italian. And in Patmos a woman asked me in Spanish about the Grotto. It was really neat.

Image hosting by Photobucket
I took this in Mykonos!

scullerymaid at 2:31 p.m.

pots | pans