April 09, 2006

Day 4

Today we traveled via bus for three hours to Delphi. It was one of my favorite places and the tour guide, who was half Greek and half English with a wonderful accent, was very good with her teaching. After she was finished, we could climb to the top of the mountain where the stadium was. I must of been crazy because I climbed to the top and was sure my legs were going to fall off. But it was amazing. We were very high up and the mountain's valley was spread out beneath me. I ran out of film though and didn't get very good pictures of the temple.

After that we ate at a restaurant and I had my first souvlaki. It was alright. Then we stopped in Arachova (I really don't know if that's what it's called)where they're known for their weaving and where Arachne was from. i bout a scarf for Granny, a blanket for me, a tea cup for Cherish, and a Plate for her family. I alos spoke my first Greek, asking how much this beautiful table cloth was: "Poso Kanee"

I do believe that this was the night that I walked in the Agean. I really hate how I've gotten my days confused. I had meant to keep a journal, but I was usually so tired that I didn't have time. I also went to an internet cafe. It was interesting, but I didn't feel like staying. I mean, we were in Greece and the sophomores wanted to daddle on a computer. Luckily, the juniors and seniors walked by and saved me and we went to another cafe.

Out of boredom that night, I decided to join them on their balcony. Let it be known that I refused every drink and cigarette offered to me and I fell in love with Greecebuddy for making sure that no one pressured me. I was reall glad I went though, because this one girl drank too much and needed help. I began to take her back to her room, but she ended up being carried by Greecebuddy. I found it amazing how he snapped out of his drunken state to help her, and though I lost a little respect for him because of his drinking, he gained it back by helping her.

He asked me to stay with her, but I couldn't. I'd never had to watch over someone that was wasted before and wasn't comfortable with having someone's life in my hands, so one of the other girls stayed. i felt bad, incompetant because I copuln't do anything. I had an need to comfort, but was unable to. And of course people assumed that I was freaking out, which I wasn't. How would thye know? It had only been me, Greecebuddy, and the drunk girl in the room. I hated how thrughout the rest of the trip this one guy always asked if I was alright. He said it was because I didn't talked. I wanted to slap him. But of course, I jut retreated back to my balcony, where it was only me, the sea, and the Greeks.

This one man made me very happy. My balcony was at a stop light and he honked at me and waved. He did it again when the light changed, and then before he disappeared around the corner. It was the first time I felt acknowledged. I would've kissed him if I could've. I will always remember the Greek man that honked at me. Today I also finally figured out how to use my phone card and called home for the first time.

scullerymaid at 7:33 a.m.

pots | pans