April 08, 2006

Day 3

I think it was today that we visited the Plaka, the shopping bazarre of Athens. I don't think we had time to do it yesterday, but I honestly don't remember. But we did go with a tour guide to the Parthenon, Parliment, and various other places in Greece. The Parthenon was rather touristy so I walked on ahead. Then I decided to walk with one of the california girls so that I wouldn't get lost. We spent a decent amount of time together on the trip. She was very nice and I appreciated it greatly.

Going back to the Plaka, it was probably my favorite place in Athens. The first time we went, most of us ate together at this nice cafe and tried our firt gyro, pronounced "yiro" I think I downed about three jugs of water. It was very nice. K told us that the favorite past time of the Greeks is to people watch at cafes and drink ice coffee. I can't say I like the ice coffee, but I nejoyed the cafe.

I bought most of my gifts at the Plaka... worry beads, soap, bronze figurines. Our meeting point was in the square of the mitropilis church. It was quite beautiful. That's where we ate as well.

Today I also watched the changing og the guards. It was quite interesting. Every male in Greece has to serve in the military, I want to say for at least 6 months, but I'm probably wrong. Not just anyone can be a guard. The tour guide explained that they have to be between 18 and 22, and they have to have a certain look about them. She said K probably had that look. But he waited to go into the service and was almost punished with an extra 6 months because he waited so long. He said he avoided it as long as possible.

I also bought a necklace with my name written in Greek. I got Mom one too. I couldn't help getting me a bracelt as well.

scullerymaid at 7:19 a.m.

pots | pans