April 07, 2006

Day 2

The flight from Munich, Germany to Athens, Greece was only a couple of hours. I enjoyed this flight. I actually got to sit next to the window. I was suposed to for the first flight as well, but I decided to let friends sit next to each other. Fortunately for the rest of the flights I sat with strangers and didn't have to worry about being guilted to move.

I got to watch us fly over wonderfully blue water and over the alps. We also flew over this one country with lots of beach, but I don't know which country it was.

About plane rides, turbulence doesn't bother me that much. What I didn't like was the landing. Not the actual landing itself, but what flying in lower did to my ears. Going up, my ears popped, but I hardly noticed. Coming down, the pain was so bad that it seeped into my jaw. It wasn't pleasant.

At the Athens airport, we met our bilingual tour director, K. He speaks Greek, English, Italian, and French. But he's from Latvidia (sp), a town in the mountains of Greece. At least, if I remember correctly.

After loading our luggage on the bus we had to wait a while for the California group that was to join us to arrive. It was surprising. They only had 4 students with them, and the rest were old people. I didn't like their teacher. Why? I can't explain it. I just didn't and learned later on that even my teachers didn't like her.

Finally, we were able to go to the first hotel. It wasn't bad. Just like one of our hotels I suppose. I roomed with two other girls. The two beds were pushed together. I chose to sleep on the cot next to the balcony. I didn't mind at all. I found it quite comfortable. I spent most of my hotel time on that balcony since we weren't allowed to leave by ourselves and I didn't really have friends there. The people with me were sophomores, annoying and strange, and then the juniors and seniors, my age but smokers and drinkers. I would watch them get wasted on their balcony diagonally below mine as I watched all the traffice go by and strained to hear the sea over the hundreds of beeping vehicles. The Greeks are strnage, slightly aggressive drivers. My tour guide refused to get his license.

So yeah, the nights, unbeknownst (sp) by the teachers, were filled with drinking.

Dinner was alright. I thought it was tuna, but later found out that it was actually pork. It was very tender. For dessert we had paniccota with a caramel sauce that tasted like coffee.

scullerymaid at 7:03 a.m.

pots | pans