April 06, 2006

Day 1

Today I left for the airport. I can't say that there was too much emotion coursing through me. It would take a couple hours to drive to the airport. Grandma and Mom accompanied me. I decided to sit in the backseat and I listened to Maroon 5 on the way there and did a little writing. I like to think of it as a mini biography. I might continue it someday.

I became nervous at the airport. I walked fast and talked a lot. But we were ealry. I met up with Mrs. Jersey and left my luggage with her so that we could find something to eat. The breadsticks I bought at Pizza Hut were horrible. It turned out that the good restaurants were on the other side of the gate so I bought a slice of pizza.

Having to go to that other side of the gate made me sad. Then I knew that it was final. That I would be getting on a plane in a matter of hours and then be flying in the air for several hours... not to mention the fact that by the end of the trip I would've ridden 4 planes total.

I talked to mom on my cell until I was past that gate. Service on the other side was really bad. Earlier I had made my parents leave voice messages on my phone. I was hoping that though I wouldn't have service in Greece, that maybe I could listen to their voices. Nope. But that was okay becuase I had them write notes and leave them in my suitcases. I also took pictures of my family with my digital camera.

The flight wasn't bad. After I borded I knew there was no turning back so I calmed down. I did do my bit of praying. In fact, I did lots of praying on the trip. Sometimes I felt like I was asking God for too much and not giving anything in turn.

I thought the plane food was pretty good, especially the breakfast. And the snack mix!

scullerymaid at 6:45 a.m.

pots | pans