August 13, 2005

Little Brothers

My brother made me very mad tonight. I've just spent the past half-hour (well, nearly half an hour) scoring the neighborhood for him. He was supposed to be at this one kid's house and said he was going to ask to spend the night. Well, it was 8:30 and he still wasn't home, so I fugured I would go give him some pajamas and a good tongue lashing for not coming home. No one was at the kid's house.

You can't imagine the panic that hit me. I bet I spent every second of 10 minutes banging on the door, praying that someone was there, even though I knew no one was. So, I tried to look at the basics... Obviously, they all went out. They wouldn't just leave without at least sending him home. But still I decided to look around for him, without any success.

So I came home, slightly defeated but knowing everything was going to be fine, to see that my channel had been changed. And there he was sitting on the couch. I've heard that people can switch from one extreme (that is concerning emotions) to the next with astonishing speed, and I think I might be one of those people, because it wasn't hard for me to stop blubbering and start shouting. Apparently he was in the yard (or so he says) the whole time!

He's going to drive me to an early grave, probably because he's six years my junior. What are parents thinking when they space their kids so far apart? I will never do that to my kids!

"I would hate to be 6 ft"

scullerymaid at 8:54 p.m.

pots | pans