August 14, 2005

Gibberish Drones

The whole "Gift of Tongues" thing at church freaks me out a little. I attend a pentacostal church, but I was pretty much raised Catholic (I went to a private school throughout grade school), and that wasn't very common during mass. Okay, so I never heard anyone start speaking some strange gibberish I couldn't understand while going to that school and I was quite comfortable with that. Then all of a sudden we start going to this church and it's pretty common, especially today.

Our church is going through this transition, so we'll be getting a new pastor. Well, the new (potential) pastor was at church today and gave the sermon, along with these two visiting pastors, one of which liked to drone on and on. Actually this new pastor (I'll call him Pastor J) was very nice; he's young with a family and he has had experience with youth, so I'm hoping our youth program will be... better.

But still, the "tongues" thing bothers me. I felt like such an outsider today, because I felt none of it. I was just there, basically observing. I mean, yeah I believe that the Apostals received the gift of tongues at pentacost (forgive me if my terms are a little scattered and wrong), but believing and first-hand witnessing it is two different things. I was praying while all this was going on that God didn't mind that I didn't get into it like the others did. I didn't cry and I certainly didn't speak gibberish. I don't want Him to think that I don't believe or something like that.

Deep down sometimes I think I'm Catholic. Or at least my mind is. You can't go to Catholic school all those years and not pick up some things. And my grandmother was Catholic, so it's not like I'd be the only one in the family to be Catholic. I don't know. I've been to so many different churches that I'm kind of a melting-pot of denominations.

My quote today is from The Santa Clause, but I'm not sure if have it word for word.

"Seeing isn't believing; Believing is seeing"

(I thought it applied, don't you?)

scullerymaid at 5:49 p.m.

pots | pans