July 14, 2005

Hot Summer Days

When I was 10, summer was the most amazing thing in the universe. I couldn't wait for it to come and I never wanted it to end. Now that I'm a soon-to-be high school Junior, I can't stand the summer. Days are long and hot. I'm stuck in the house with nothing to do except sleep, catch up on my old movies which I keep in the drawer above the last in my dresser, and fiddle on the computer for a couple of hours. I don't think all this "house time" is healthy. I don't think I've ever watched so much tv ( I never could figure out if there should be periods in that word!) in my life as I've watched this summer, and I'm only going to watch more. Oh, well. There's only a little over one month before school starts up again, and though there will be that whole high school drama thing, and a good dosage of chaos, I'll welcome it.

Speaking of tv, what are my thoughts on a few shows?

Into The West
This is an awesome show; my newest obsession! The producer, of course, is a genius and if I could spell his name I would. I think I could manage it, but just in case I'll wait.

Cooking Under Fire
This show actually ended last night. If only I had discovered it earlier! But in the two episodes that I watched, I quickly decided that Autumn was my favorite chef (she reminds me of myself in certain aspects) and I just think she is such a sweet person. And it made me a little mad that the judges didn't understand what she was talking about when they asked her what her inspiration had been for the cow's liver she prepared. She cooked it with, like, raspberries and thyme, and stuff such as that. She said that she was trying to think of what a cow's environment was like (they graze in fields with perhaps wild berries and herbs growing) and combine those flavors with the meat to bring them together- or something like that. I can't quite remember. The point is, I thought it was a very interesting if not clever idea, but no one understood what she was talking about. Poor Autumn.
I didn't like Katie at all, and of course she won. I agree that she has the confidence that's needed to work in a kitchen, especially in NYC, but she was just too... I don't know, edgy for me. She's just not the type of person I would generally hang out with. But it's probably better that she won. Autumn would do better on the west coast I think.
I liked Sarah and had hoped she would win after Autumn was 86ed (sorry that your second Sarah). But she did make some (slightly) bad decisions on that last round.

Gilmore Girls
I don't really watch this show but sometimes I tune in. They live in a nice town. It seems (to me- someone who may not really know what they're talking about) like a small, but not sheltered town. I would like to live in a town like that. Maybe on the northern east coast. But not New York. I wonder where the show takes place- on screen and off? I should ask my friend. I think he watches it.

"How will we remember unless we write it down to record?"

scullerymaid at 10:50 p.m.

pots | pans