September 02, 2015

Curls and fry bread

Last night I had a dream that I owned a little cafe in downtown and we operated a little food truck on the side. Perhaps I should pursue this little dream...

I also lopped off some of my hair last night. For one reason or another, I've decided I should start wearing my hair natural and curly. It has so much potential and I never do anything with it. I shower, wear it limp for a couple days, then finally get fed up and straighten it. No more! But the haircut I had wasn't really a curly style. Since I wear it straight, I cut it as if it's straight, which means long layers that weigh the curls down. So I gave myself a sort of A-line cut. Not a bob, which is what I think of when I say A-line, and it's not really a true A-line cut anyway, but I left the very bottom layer long, then started cutting shorter layers all the way to the top of my head. That way the curls can be free and bouncy and wild. It turned out pretty well. I need to cut some more of the top off, but I didn't want to go too crazy last night.

But I like it. Now I need to invest in a good condition and something to leave in. The stuff I have not feels a little heavy for my hair. Despite being curly, it's fairly fine. My brother inherited the really thick hair. I also kind of want to dye it. I've never dyed my hair before and with fall here, I think it would be really cool. But it's not a priority. A co-worker just had her hair done and it's pricey. I'd do it myself, but I think it would be a better idea in this case to get it professionally done and I'm just not willing to spend that much money on my hair at this point in my life.

scullerymaid at 10:40 a.m.

pots | pans