April 21, 2015

Ginger beard

Dearest Diary,

I am fucking smitten. That was probably one of the best dates I've ever been on. I can't even explain it. We didn't even do anything special. Went to dinner, decided to walk around town, went to a bar. Yet, neither of us wanted the night to end. I mean, he picked me up at 7:30pm and here it is 2:00 in the morning! If I didn't work, I'm sure I would have made him keep driving his car around just so we could keep talking.

Seriously, though, it was a really sweet date. Oh, but I was so nervous beforehand. I didn't have much time to get ready so was sweating up a storm as I tried to do my hair and apply my makeup. It was ridiculous. I think I finished brushing my teeth two minutes before he rang the doorbell. If I haven't mentioned it before, I'll mention it again. He's a shy guy. So when we were first on our way to the restaurant, I felt like I was trying to carry the conversation, which is hard for me because I'm naturally quiet. So I didn't have much hope about how things would go. How wrong was I. We were at dinner for nearly two hours. Talking I suppose. Well, I felt like I was just rambling the whole time. Seems that when I'm nervous I just let myself prattle. He's the opposite. He doesn't talk much when he's nervous. But I think we handled it very well. The whole night I was just very honest and acknowledged whenever I was feeling shy, and he let me have my moments. I think it really worked out for us.

After the restaurant closed, we walked around town a bit trying to figure out what we could do at 10pm on a Monday. Not much, I tell you. So we walked and talked until it threatened to rain. Then we rode in the car and talked until we finally came across a late night bar. We must have been there for at least another few hours just talking about nothing.

He was so sweet and understanding and such a gentleman the whole time. Plus, he's so tall and has the most beautiful eyes. Really, I know because I kept staring into them. They are beautiful. He's beautiful. And I really wish the night didn't have to end.

I didn't think he was going to kiss me because he didn't even accidentally brush me all night. Oh, but he did. He sure did kiss me, right outside my front door and it was great. Needs practice because I haven't had the luxury of kissing anyone in ages, but he kissed me well and hard. I'm sure if I didn't have roommates, I would have invited him in.

Pat on the back for not sleeping with a guy on the first date, eh? I mean, how many times has that happened...

Anyway, I'm trying so hard not to let my expectations run rampant. Sure, he said he wanted to go out again. Yeah, he texted me when he got home. Yes, he pressed his glorious body against mine and now I can't stop thinking about it. So hopefully all that means that he really will call me to go out again. How horrible it would be if he didn't. But he prolonged the date just as much as I did so I have high hopes.

Off to bed. I'm rambling too much and have to get up early.

scullerymaid at 2:17 a.m.

pots | pans