November 17, 2012

Double chocolate layer cake

What a Saturday. I feel like I've been running around all day...though I really haven't been. See, tomorrow is our annual Thanksgiving dinner. My friends will start arriving around noon so today I had the brilliant idea of cooking all my stuff ahead of time. That way my kitchen is free for their use and I can kinda relax all day instead of working over a hot stove in a crowded kitchen. Only TJ and I had to go grocery shopping. And pick up the turkey fryer from his parents house. Then we stopped at Torey's place because he has a membership at Sam's Club so we figured we'd tag along to see if there was anything in bulk we needed.

It seemed like such a long day, and yet it was a lazy day. Sure, we were out for a few hours and then I came home and started cooking, but it's also been delightfully slow as contradictory as that sounds. I guess there truly is a difference between being at work all day and being off and busy all day.

Anyway, so far I've made some Blackberry Cranberry Sauce, which turned out pretty good in my opinion- much better than the one I made last week with just cranberries. I also put a dry rub on the turkey so the spices can soak in all night. Finally, I started working on a chocolate chocolate cake for SB's birthday. I swear it took me over an hour to get it in the oven and then it baked for another hour. I think I'm going to save the ganache for tomorrow though. Hopefully she won't guess it's for her while I'm working on it. Her birthday isn't until actual Thanksgiving. If I keep the icing minimal maybe she'll think I got a whim up my but to just make a chocolate cake. I still need to make my sweet potato souffle but I've gotten a little lazy and might wait til the morning.

I feel kinda bad because Math really wants me to go out with her and Janesa tonight...but I just want to stay in. Plus, I don't have any money for drinks which will be no fun since both of them will probably get a little tipsy. Plus plus, my gas is a little low and I need to save it for work until I get paid...which might be Tuesday if they don't hold my check! My grandma has this theory that they always hold your first check, but I have direct deposit set up and I just don't see why they would hold it. But I guess we'll see!

Here's to tomorrow!

scullerymaid at 10:55 p.m.

pots | pans