May 30, 2011

Hitting gold

I had a fabulous weekend. It was more than fabulous. I can't even put into words how much I enjoyed myself. I can't even believe it happened. Yet it did. I'm walking on cloud 9- No!- more like cloud 16. If I could fly folks. if I could fly...

Thursday I went on my date with TJ. It was our second date date, but we've been hanging out pretty regularly. I mean, last weekend he took me to Carolina with him, which was very nice. But since it was memorial day weekend I didn't really expect to see him until later in the week. Well Friday I was hanging out at my aunt and uncle's house which happens to be around the corner from where he lives. Naturally, we were texting and when he found out I was in the area he invited me over for a get together at his place and then to go to Carolina again to go riding. I was unprepared. I had no clothes with me, no toothbrush or anything! But maybe that's part of the joy of it, these spontaneous weekends because two hours later he was pulling into my aunt's driveway. My mom, aunt, and I were sitting on the porch waiting for him. I must admit I was nervous that he was meeting my mom. But it was fine. She told me he was quiet...and a hottie, so I guess things are okay. She needs to spend more time around him. He's not all that quiet, not as quiet as me anyway.

So we went to his place, cooked some hot dogs and hung out with his friends. His bothers girl insisted on liquoring me up so I was feeling quite buzzed that night. Speaking of her, these Z brothers are very skinny guys and they must have a thing for chunky girls because she was a little on the heavy side. She used the word chunky. I like that. She was super cool though. We didn't talk all that much because I'm terrible in social situations when there are lots of people around, but I'd love to hang out with her. It was a good night.

The next morning we drove out to Rivercity so the guys could ride. It was sooo hot! I fell asleep because that's what the sun does to me, but I still like going. I took some pics and footage that I hope turned out. Then that night we went over to TJ's other brothers house for another cookout deal. I'm telling you, every weekend these boys get the fire pits and grills going. I love it. They're so friendly. People are always over on the weekends. It's very nice. Last night people were over a little longer than I would've liked, but I think that's because my tummy was a little upset and I was ready for some alone time with my guy. We hadn't had a moment alone all weekend!

But it was still a nice night. That day TJ, his best friend and I hung out around the house until people were going to come over later for drinking. We played basketball and football and decided to lawn surf which involves being pulled behind a lawn tractor on a skim board. Not as easy as it looks, folks, but the three of us had a blast. And we went to walmart to look at grills because TJ is thinking about getting one. He fell in love this this smoker, but it's a little pricey.

Then people started showing up and my stomach started churning. I blame the beer. I don't usually drink beer. It's not my thing. But he assured me since I started with liquor I would be fine. Myths, I tell you, myths! Of course, my tummy problems could've been from the fact that we'd been in the hot sun all day and only ate lunch. I can't say that it was the beer's fault. But people just would not leave! Here I was, ready to go to bed with my guy in the nice cool house and no one was showing signs of tiring. They were there until 3 in the morning. Usually people start leaving around midnight. I was becoming extremely impatient, especially since I had been staring at TJ walking around the yard all day half naked. I'm quickly getting over his skinniness, I'll assure you of that. I swear as soon as people started putting their chairs away I was in the shower ready to end the night. A couple of his friends crashed on the couch so we weren't completely alone, but I'll talk whatever I can get. I do enjoy sleeping with the man, even if he has a kiddie bed.

There's just something about this guy. I don't know what it is, but it's crazy. Of course, we have our off moments. Sometimes he'll say something that puts me if a weird mood, but so far so good. I mean, I've spent two weekends away with him. I've met his friends and brothers and they seem to like me. I could sit and kiss him all day. I feel like I'm in a whirlwind romance, which is so strange. I've mentioned before that it takes me awhile to actually acknowledge that I like a guy. But right now, I feel hooked...and I've only known him for a month. I feel so silly having these feelings so quickly. Am I not the one that lectures Math for falling in love so quickly? And look at me! I won't say I'm in love...but I wouldn't have any problem making this guy long term, a first for me. I just love spending time with him. Though he does have a somewhat serious side, I've seen his goofy side too and I don't mind the balance. He's just...

He just is. Right now, I couldn't ask for something better and I really hope it works out. I pray for it, pray for it, pray for it. Because I think this time I struck gold!

scullerymaid at 5:01 p.m.

pots | pans