May 16, 2011

West again

Well Diary, I had a chat with Popeguy today and it seems he might have talked me into maybe seriously and probably going to grad school next out year. You know, I have this negative attitude about continuing school. I've been in for years and I want to be out. I certainly don't want academia to be my career! But when I sit with myself and think, browsing through a bunch of jobs that I either don't feel qualified for (or just am not qualified for) or that sound about as exciting as a rock, I think why not? What's wrong with going into academia? I don't necessarily have to teach. I could do field work, research, etc. I don't have to sit at a desk all day. Why not give it a go?

So I'm going to start looking at schools. I still have my heart focused on Montana, but it wouldn't kill me to keep my options open. I still need to take the stupid GRE, too. My biggest fear is still money though. How am I going to afford an apartment? How am I going to afford the plane ticket to get my ass out there?

I have a year to pull myself together! Let's do this and see what happens...

scullerymaid at 9:34 p.m.

pots | pans