May 13, 2011

Running in the dark

Last night was an amazing night. I went out dancing with friends. It was senior night at my school and they rented out this bar. Surprising, I know, since we are a dry campus (but all week has seem to been about drinking thanks to the school). I can't remember the last time we all went dancing and it was so much fun. Even Alice was there visiting from Guam. Then Zach swung by to snag me since I was already across town near him. I had to run around the parking lot from my friends because they wanted to sneak a peek of him. I know it's not that big of a deal, but I find no reason for them to meet him since he's leaving in two months anyway...something I don't like to think about.

You know, Zach's love bug bit me a few months ago and I fought it wholeheartedly for good reason. But the more time I have to sit and ponder on it, the sadder I become. I enjoy spending time with him. I like singing in the car and laughing together in bed. I've grown to love his body, even if he's as hairy as a beast. My favorite part of the night is snuggling up next to his tall frame and wrapping myself around him. Ha, I even like his Michigan accent. You see, I know that despite that little rough patch we had where I swore I would never date him seriously, I know that I do love him. Maybe it's not full blown passionate love. I don't think it's even puppy love. It's a soft love, one that grew on me slowly these past five months.

But he and I are just temporary and there's no point in thinking on these things. He's leaving. Gone. And for a very very long time. He won't be coming back to this place either I don't think, so all these thoughts are just wishes in the wind. At least I have two more months.

scullerymaid at 2:09 p.m.

pots | pans