February 07, 2011

Football and Glee

So tonight I went to a football party- go Packers! I'm really not a big follower of football. The only reason I root for the Redskins is due to family affiliation. But I must admit that my anthropology glasses went on as soon as I walked through that door because I was experiencing an American ritual that was being practiced across the country. Even I, in my football ignorance, got into the game and it was amazing. Plus, there was lots of food. How could I complain when there is food? Haha

Then I watched Glee which I haven't seen since about halfway through season one. I should really catch up...

But I was slightly offended tonight. This annoying guy showed up to the party and when Glee came on he made fun of the fat girl. The one that played number 79 when (SPOILER) the Glee girls decided to help out the fb team. He cracked all this fat jokes and said how she was a BBW and how he's tap that- all in sarcasm of course- and I wanted to stand up and slap him. Even though I'm not huge anymore and some people don't even consider me fat at the point where I'm at in my weight loss, it made me very uncomfortable, especially when other people at the party joined in. Most of my life I was fat and I never experienced the cruelty that they were tossing out at this actress who could probably kick all their scrawny asses. Oh, let's not forget that if she's on the show she sure as hell can sing and is making bank. What are they doing with their lives besides making fun of people for their weight. Nothing.

I simply don't understand people. But I guess that's why I want to be an anthropologist, right?

scullerymaid at 12:54 a.m.

pots | pans