December 05, 2010

Snow and groceries

One thing that I love about Virginia is that when it snows, the whole world shuts down. Well, after the freak out of course. People cram into the grocery stores for emergency supplies and the roads become a survival challenge since the white stuff has this tendency to make people forget how to drive. But once all the chaos is over, the city, becomes this serene, quiet place wrapped in time.

My most vivid snow memory here in the news was last year when I lived in my first house. It was a Saturday morning, probably around six when I woke up since I had to work. From beneath my covers, I peeked out my window and was shocked to see everything outside, including my black cat, was covered in snow. I had heard that it was supposed to snow, but who ever believes such nonsense in this state? After my initial excitement, I curled back into bed because I was sure I would not have to go to work.

Instead the cafe just opened late, but my car wouldn't start anyway so it took me awhile to get there. Then we were sent back home.

Like I said, the world shuts down for the first snowfall. Last night we got lots of flurries but nothing that would stick. But it was pretty to watch.

I'm in a kissing mood but there's nobody to kiss. That's mostly my fault, I'm sure. Damn pickiness. But you see, if I don't let anyone in, they can never leave me. It's not rejection I fear. It's getting involved, opening up, and then being left behind again. That's why sometimes I would just like something casual. But I don't think casual would work because I would get jealous if I saw him with someone else. Lord knows that's part of the reason I could never date Jeremy. I don't like to share my men. And he's highly feminine. I've been around feminine guys my whole life. I love them to death, but I see them more as the brother figures than the stars of my passionate fantasies.

scullerymaid at 12:17 p.m.

pots | pans