August 26, 2010

Compromise and control

So I don't know if it's because I was raised differently or if I'm just strange, but sometimes I really don't understand my roommates. The twins are both having boyfriend issues.

Let's talk about Artist first. She is pissed at her boyfriend because last weekend he skinny-dipped with his friends and some of them were girls. Okay, sure, I would be a little hesitant if my boyfriend went skinny-dipping with a whole gaggle of girls, but that is not what he did. He was with both boy and girls and it wasn't in a sexual manner at all. It's not like they were all rubbing against each other's naked bodies. They were swimming...and maybe playing with their camera phones. And when her boyfriend told her all this, Artist flipped. I believe this is completely unfair of her because A) He was totally honest with her about the whole thing. He could have just never told her. B) She is not miss innocent. She's made out with this one guy that was supposed to only be her friend and her bf trusted her with just hanging out. I bet she's never told him about the multiple kisses she has shared with that guy. C) He drove all the way down here, she broke up with him, and then she called him and changed her mind and he came back. That's a lot of gas for her selfish, hypocritical ass, especially when driving a mustang.

I just think she was a little harsh on his semi-innocent fun. I mean, if my boyfriend somehow ended up skinny-dipping with a bunch of friends, I don't think it would bother me. Now, his old flame would be a different story.

Now let's talk about Math. Her boyfriend has been hanging out with this girl. Said girl flirts with him and they text all the time. Boyfriend also lies and says he's going home but actually goes over to this girls house and hangs out with her and her roommates. This, I understand. I would be super pissed, too, and I would want him to have to earn my trust back. He might not actually be cheating on her, but the temptation is there. More than temptation. It wouldn't be so bad if he wasn't lying. Hang out with who you want to hang out with. But don't try to hide it. That makes things worse. But what I don't understand is the part where Math decided to involve his parents. What?! Are we adults here? Can't we handle our own problems, especially involving our sig others? Come on, now! So yeah, she told him the only way to earn her trust back is by telling his parents that he lied to her and went to hang out with this other girl instead of hanging out with her. So his parents yelled at him for lying to Math (and them since he said he was going home...yes, he still lives at home), for hurting Math by hanging out with this girl, and for drinking at the girl's house and driving home drunk. After that, his parents decided to take his car away and he's basically grounded and under house arrest. How stupid is that? I understand Math's anger, I really do, but what happens when they move in together and get married (which apparently they're going to do after graduation)? Is she going to call his parents when he steps out of line and vice versa? How is that going to work? If my boyfriend threatened me by saying he's going to tell my parents I did something, I pretty sure I would laugh in his face. And then I would break up with him for thinking he could use my parents as a form of collateral. I'm not a little girl. If we're going to fight, it's going to be between the two of us.

That's my opinion anyway. Maybe a lot of other people wouldn't agree with me. But I'm really chill like that. As long as you're not screwing other girls and as long as our arguments are kept in the house, who am I to tell you how to live? If I don't like it, well then maybe we shouldn't be together in the first place. Life is about compromise, not control.

scullerymaid at 7:22 p.m.

pots | pans