August 24, 2010

A new beginning...?

I wonder if I dramatize some of my entries and life experiences? Probably. Oh well, can't be helped.

Today was the second day of classes. So far school has been good, though I've only actually been to three classes. I had this whole registration issue and decided to switch some classes. But I can tell this is going to be a tough semester. A good semester, but tough! I'm taking Senior Sem (yikes!) and will have to write a 15 page paper (in English) and then turn it into a 10 mintue presentation (in Spanish). We can research what ever we want as long as it's involving Urbanism, which is the topic of the class. The good news? I have a working thesis already and I've only been to the class once. It's pretty vague right now, naturally, but at least I have soemthing, right? I'm excited.

I'm also enrolled in the most awesomest Anthropology class ever. It's called Fear and Magic and i am in love with my professor. She used to be my advisor which made me hesitant to take her class. She found me to be very ambitious and that intimidated me. But now that she's not my advisor and I've been dying to take the class, I decided to just go for it. Strange reasoning, I know, but whatever. Better late than never! And it is going to be a great class. Today she pulled out a Prayer Wheel from her bag and explained it's purpose. Then she told us that she's used it a few times and her prayers were always answers...but she had to pay for them in blood, sweat, and tears. She wouldn't elaborate, of course. Maybe later in the semester. But it just fascinated me beyond anything. So cool. I also have to conduct an experiement that proves the existence of magic and the supernatural. How the hell am I supposed to do that? I don't know but I thought it would be cool to do like a past-life recall (something I've never heard of but she mentioned it) or something that deals with psychics. We'll see. It'll be a challenge.

The only other class I've been to so far is Pre-Columbian Art. We didn't really do anything yet. Briefly talked about the Olmecs. I've had the professor before and I think she's adorable so I'm not worried. Sure, it'll be some work but I enjoy learning about indigenous peoples so I'll enjoy it.

There's still two classes I haven't been to yet. Oops. A Span Lit class and another Anthropology class. hopefully they're both okay. The major thing I don't like about this semester is that all my classes are super spread out. MWF I have class at 9, 11, then 4. TR is worse. Class at 11 and 4. I guess it'll give me plenty of time to do all the reading and writing I'll be doing. We'll see.

I'm trying to be positive. I think this semester is going to be awesome if I allow it to be. You know what? Right now, everything is falling apart and it's going to drown me if I;m not careful. I have family problems coming out my ass, not to mention roommate problems. Plus, it's senior year. I could just say fml and fall crumble, but I refuse! That's right life, we are going to be great together, you hear me? And we're going to kick this year in the booty!

And possibly change what I want to get my Masters in ;-)

scullerymaid at 10:17 p.m.

pots | pans