December 04, 2009

Mimosa

I saw the Cirque du Soleil production of Alegria tonight and it was amazing. Really makes me wish I was going to school to be involved in theatre. Sometimes I miss it. Can you imagine being the stage manager for a show like that? Now, I do think I liked Kooza better, but it was still a great show. Oh, and the acrobatics! The skill and talent of those people. They do things I couldn't even imagine doing. (Really makes me want to get back into going to the gym...which will be my friend over winter break)

When I got home tonight, there was a Christmas tree on the living room. And I got so excited. I didn't expect for us to have one. In fact, I didn't expect to have one at all this year, not even with my family. But there it was in all it's plastic glory and Josh Groban was belting Christmas lyrics in the dining room. In my excitement, I ran downstairs to share the wonder with Popeguy, but he and the bf were down there and all of a sudden I was overwhelmed with this sense of sadness. I retreated to my room and had a small cry. A small cry for what Christmas is going to be this year. A cry for how I miss having a sense of family and a place to go home to whenever I want. I cried for everything my family is going through anf has gone through and for the fact that this year we just can't do anything. And i cried because I couldn't share my joy with my best friend because he will always be looking for someone else to share his joy with. As close as we are and as many good times that we have, I can't run downstairs because I will always be intruding and not the other way around.

This is why I appreciate the friends I have that don't have boyfriends, Bonadio being a prime example.

But whatever. I had myself a mismosa, and now I'm contently writing in my diary. Speaking of mimosas, I've never had one before until tonight. Nor had i ever tried champagne, and I must say that both are quite deliscious. You know, I've never been one to really enjoy alcohol, but this year I'm expanding my horizons and have discovered quite a few likes. Take wine for instance. Never have liked the stuff. Years of trying to drink it with my dad had me convinced it just was not the beverage for me. But whenever I go to Bonadio's house, the two of us and her mother cook and we always try a different wine. The first one, I didn't like. But that past two were actually very scrumptious. I was utterly impressed. And now i find that champagne and mimosas aren't bad either, not to mention White Russians. I'm fond of those too.

It just always strikes me how taste changes. Funny how that works, huh? And at least I'm not going out and getting trashed. I like that my drinking usually goes along with dinner. Haha, culinary experimentation ;-)

scullerymaid at 12:23 a.m.

pots | pans