November 06, 2009

La llegada

I have a French composition due tomorrow. Eh, no big, right? Wrong! We have to write about our favorite tv show. Doesn't sound too hard, but the catch is that it's in the passe compose. Okay, I have nothing against the passe compose, but how are you supposed to write about your favorite show using that tense? Imperfect, maybe. Present, definitely. It's just so awkward. What do I say? It started in 2005. So and so stared in it? No! And it's still showing today. I just can't wrap my mind about it. This is not the right topic for passe compose. Maybe I can just write about one episode. Then I can create a series of events. Solid actions.

Ugggh, I hate French today. Bring on the spanish! Today we got our midterms back in my Span lit class. I was thinking I didn't do to hot. Low 80's. But I got a 92! YES! I was so excited. Then SB and I went to Plazas for dinner where I of course ordered in Spanish. Ordering is really no big deal. A lot of saying gracias and mas por favor. But today I felt confident with my spanish. And that is such a wonderful feeling. Plus its nice when people smile at you when you start talking to them in their native tongue :-D

So maybe French doesn't click that mcuh. It's more like something I learn for the moment only to forget. But spanish is in my head. And it's so weird. Sometimes people say things I've never heard before. Words I don't catch. But I still know what they're saying. I wish I could master those little words I dont know, though. Can't wait for that to happen.

scullerymaid at 12:52 a.m.

pots | pans