March 19, 2009

Failure? I think not!

OH MY GOODNESS ME!

I only have one class TR: Span 303 WI. It's a good class, one of my favorites. Well, today the profe was handing back our midterm exams. In the midst of this, she tells me and this other girl to stay after class.

What? Why?

I couldn't believe it. I was sure we had failed. We had failed and now she had to have the "talk" with us. Dios mio, I was dreading it.

It turns out I got a 100 on my midterm and the other like a 98. So that wasn't the reason because Popeguy got a 97. If he wasn't staying behind too, it had to be something other than our grades.

That reason would be talent! That's right, she thinks the two of us are very talented writers with very distinct styles. I couldn't stop smiling! Then she started asking us questions about our writing processes and how it's different in English vs Spanish, etc, etc. She even told us that she loves reading when we write. She can't stop and wants more.

Well, if that wasn't a boost to my ego, I don't know what it. I'm still in shock and I had the giddy feeling when someone truly compliments you. It's amazing. Perfect cap to my day if I do say so myself.

I always thought about writing, but I was afraid. But now that I've been told it would be a waste not to write for a career, maybe I will. In high school my Spanish teacher told me it would be a waste not to major in Spanish. I ended up majoring in Spanish and I really do enjoy it. Now my Spanish professor is telling to write. Who am I not to go along with it?

:-D

scullerymaid at 4:30 p.m.

pots | pans