January 30, 2009

Shallow

Friday I get to go to a wedding. I'm so excited! Unfortunately Artist is bringing her evil wannbe boyfriend. Not her boyfriend, but the wannabe. If this experince is awkward and they ruin my wedding-attending cheer, I'm going to go mental on them! Just kidding...

Last night Snortgiggles was talking on the phone with her boyfriend, as she does whenever the opportunity arises, and now they want to hook me up with someone. As nice as that sounds, no thank you. Sometimes I sit back and think, this could be fun. Meeting new people. Going on a "date." Why not? But that's not how I want to meet someone. I'd rather it be random. Someone that I was attracted to and they attracted to me. It doesn't have to be love at first sight. I'd settle for chemistry.

She was describing these guys to me and one had a nice face, but a not so nice personality it seemed. The other was the opposite. And she had the nerve to call me shallow because I asked for a list of guys and I'll go look at their facebooks and maybe choose. Okay, how can she call me that? I admit it is shallow, but there are strangers she wants me to just go out with. Me! The girl who has never gone out with a straight boy and who doesn't even know how to behave around one. And if you don't know someone, physical characteristics is the first thing you place judgement on. It's in our biological nature to do so. It's our first step to finding a mate. Would she go out with just any bloke? Would she go out with a guy that's talland lanky? I think not. It's not her "type." Just like short and pudgy, or the football guy isn't my type.

Me and Snortgiggles are on the heavier side you could stay. Not like 300 lbs we're probably not going to make it to 25 kind of heavy, but we are larger than the Twins. She likes the big, buff football kind of guys. That just doesn't work for me. For meit's like the movies I guess. You always see the this sweet chubby mom and then this stick thin dad. And that's what I prefer. I don't want to put big and big together. I believe in balance. Hence, the tall and lanky guys I'm attracted to. And it's not always about a pretty face or a hot body. It's about someone with whom I'm compatible. I don't want to date these random guys I don't mesh with even if they do volunteer work or can cook.

And no one can disagree with me. Now of course, after you get to know a person feelings may develop, but that's the second step or whatever. That would be a beauty and the beast situation. That's when forces throw youu together. You didn't choose to be together.

I don't know what I'm saying. I think I'm trying to defend myself on that shallow remark.

scullerymaid at 11:15 a.m.

pots | pans