February 16, 2008

Passport

Popeguy is trying to convince me to go to Costa Rica this summer instead of doing summer courses. We'd get 6 credits for studying abroad, and it's cheaper to go to Costa rica than Spain.

But I'm scared. This would be total immersion-no english-learn the language. I have such doubts about my language capabilities. It would be good I agree. There's no better way to learn a language. But still I'm scared. Buthe won't go without me, and that makes me feel bad like I'm holding him back. Not that I am, that's just the type of person I am. Feeling feeling feeling. But it would be fun, would't it? And I'd come back bilingual, no?

I'll think about it. Get more info. Make some money. and we'll see what happens. Maybe if we can live with the same family. That would make me feel more comfortable. But he's braver than I am. It doesn't bother me going to South America. It's being around people and knowing that they expect me to learn and speak the language. And I'm sure once I'm there I can't just say nevermind send me home. It's going to be quite the culture shock, I'm sure. But if I'm going to be an anthropologist, I'll have to get used to that, won't I?

scullerymaid at 1:04 p.m.

pots | pans