February 07, 2008

El articulo habla sobre la vida y la cultura de Los Cubanos

All You Need Is Love!

We just finished watching Across the Universe, and I actually liked it. I didn't think I would, and I know a few years ago, I probably wouldn't have. It's amazing to realize how we've changed over the years.

And I went to Spanish today, both classes. and it's not bad. It's not good, but it's not bad. Though today was a little bad. We had to present this article that we had to read, and you think my presentations in English are bad...well, let me tell you! I could up in front of the class and I could not stop shaking. A three minute presentation turned into a 20 second one. But it was okay. I started presenting, and when my brain started freezing, I stopped and explained in Spanish that I was not the best at speaking in front of the class and I didn't think I could go on. And you know what?!?! The professor old me that I speak Spanish very clearly. And I sat back down. I felt bad about it, but at least I tried. And he told me I just need more practice.

After class quite a few students came up to me and were amazed at how clearly I spoke. I have no idea what they're talking about, butit definitely boosted my confidence. So I don't think the class is as intimidating anymore. And they were all so supportive of my shyness :-)

And later tonight, a girl in my class came up to me (no idea who she is) and said I did very well. That she could actually understand what I was saying. Apparently (like myself) lots of people can't understand the professor when he speaks. He's from Peru and has a heavy accent. It sounds like he mumbles everything together and I can only get a few words, which is probably why I'm so lost in the class. But I'm not the only one, and it makes me very happy that people liked to hear me speak. But I'm still in shock.

Guess my high school teacher was right. I should email her! I've neglected to do so since coming to college and she was probably my best teacher.

scullerymaid at 11:04 p.m.

pots | pans