July 16, 2007

Saliva for one

Today I came to an understanding as to why waiters spit into their customer's coffee. I was working and this woman comes in. And she's running me all over the place. Wanting these earrings. No those earrings. Go ask the owner this. Go ask the owner that. Then when it was time for her to checkout, she treated me like some kind of simpleton! Her total was maybe like $22.03. So she gives me two dollars. And I wait a few seconds thinking she'll pull more money out. Then I think, maybe she thought she gave me more. So I tell her that it's only $2 and she gives me this look and very snidely remarks how she knows how much she gave me and that she's going to pay for the rest on her credit card. Okay lady, could've mentioned that before! When she was about to leave, she asks me where Ruby Red is. Ruby Red? What is that? It sounded like one of the lipsticks we have. So I tell her that I don't know what she's talking about. Turns out that it's a store of sorts or something. Either way, she wasn't very pleasant.

If I hadn't been working for Sunny. If I hadn't been working for family but just at some random store to get a little spending money, I surely would've gotten myself fired. It took all the effort I had to bite my tongue and not tell her how extremely rude she was. I truly wanted to give her a piece of my mind. But no, I had to stand there smiling as I rang her up. My blood was boiling.

Honestly, are there no manners in the world nowadays

scullerymaid at 10:26 p.m.

pots | pans