July 08, 2007

Stranded

Today was not my day. All I wanted to do was make some soup. That's all. So I got up early and took dad to work so that I could have the van. And what happens? The boys want to come with me to the grocery store. Okay, that's understandable. And what am I supposed to do, not offer to get them anything to eat? I mean, it's obvious that no one plans on going grocery shopping. We literally have no food. Not even Ramen Noodles! So I get them some snacks and drinks and take them to Wendy's. And my little tyrant of a brother smacks me in the restaurant. Just on the arm and it was truly in jest. But it didn't look that way and everyone was staring at us in a "trying not to be obvious" kind of way. He did something else, too, but I can't remember what it was. But I was mad. So when we went to the van I took the case of drinks I had bought and put them under my seat. Why should I waste my money on him when he doesn't even appreciate it? And what does he do? He beats the snot out of my shoulder. It was quite fascinating to watch actually. I don't understand what his problem was, but his face turned bright red and he looked on the verge of tears. And he was repeatedly punching my arm. Same exact spot every time. I bet he got a good 15 hits in. And what am I supposed to do? He has a friend in the car and we're in a semi-public place. I'm not going to hit him. Not that it would make much of a difference. He'd just get angrier. When he finally stops I go to start the van, and the ignition and wheel are locked up. I can't get it to turn for anything! I thought it was just because my arm was a little numb. But then the friend tries and it doesn't work either. Okay, Mom and Dad were at work, Grandma was out of town as were Romania and Dancer. I was stranded and felt so helpless and I was slightly hormonal. What could a girl do but cry? Fortunately, things worked out. The friend's dad came and of course got it working right a way. So I went home and made my soup. Well, after a while I did.

But yes, now my arm is incredibly sore and there is absolutely nothing that I can do. Nothing. Mom and Dad won't do anything. There is no punishment for Squirt because he doesn't care. So I'm not doing anything for him. No lifts to the store or his friend's house. No making him food. Nothing. And I don't care what anyone thinks. Nope.

scullerymaid at 9:24 p.m.

pots | pans