January 14, 2007

No locks here

Sometimes when I'm thinking about my diary I wonder... why? Why do we keep online diaries? Why do we allow the whole world to read our every thought, know our deepest secrets, things we wouldn't let our nearest and dearest read? I mean, people keep locks on their paper diaries, don't they? To write without people knowing what we write. So why then? Why do we post?

I think it's because many of us are anonymous. And maybe we don't have anyone else to talk to, or we don't want to talk. So we post, because there are people who are reading what we need to say, but we won't bump into the next day at school and feel like they've exposed our souls.

I know I would probably be mortified for at least a couple of days if my friends or family read this. But I would get over it, wouldn't I? Because life goes on, and that's what I've realized in high school. We will have embarrassing moments and will have to do things that we don't want to, but after a little while, they're over. Why worry. I worry too much, I know.

Yeah, that was a little off topic.

"So many thoughts rolling around in my head"

scullerymaid at 5:05 p.m.

pots | pans