March 30, 2006

A broken family

Sometimes Mom just makes me so mad. I walk in from school and start cooking because I haven't eaten all day. So I'm standing at the stove, cooking doughnuts in oil and watching my biscuits in the oven and she tells me to go put the dog outside. Okay, no big deal. But my biscuits need to come out of the oven in a minute so as I wait for them, I slip another piece of dough in the oil. Then my phone starts to ring, and because Mom insists on keeping the same ringer as me, she comes in asking whose phone it is and why I haven't taken the dog out. Okay, I'm trying to do four things at once. I think the dog can wait a minute.

But I can be a hot head, so I storm out of the kitchen as fast as I can, dog and phone in tow, and come marching back to retrieve my slightly burnt doughnuts and biscuits. And she has the nerve to throw herself a pity party because she's the only one who does anything. And she's fussing and cursing me, and I'm ready to throw my own pity party or tell her to open her eyes to all the things I'm trying to do. But what do I do instead? I slip another pice of dough into the oil and starting turning it.

I admit that I haven't been top notch when it comes to my chores. I maybe do the dishes a couple times a week and spend all my time on the computer. But what about all those times when she did nothing but lie around? I suppose it was okay since it was her.

scullerymaid at 2:44 p.m.

pots | pans