November 14, 2005

A devotional

I just finished writing a devotional for Bible Club tomorrow. It's not very good to say in the least, but it's done. I'm just not very good at writing devotionals. I mean, I've only ever written one once in my whole life and that was for Bible Club last year. These people just assume that because we're all Christians we participate in the same activities as they do.

Well, here it is. Like I said, I'm not necessarily proud of it, but I have all night to make revisions:

Throughout the many years I have attended Sunday schools, Christian camps, and Bible club, I cannot count the many lessons I�ve received concerning the matter of idolatry. Yes, there are even idols today. They were not left in the ancient worlds of Mesopotamia and Egypt. They simply evolved as we evolved. Instead of figurines carved from wood or shaped from gold (though there may be those that still treasure such objects), we worship television, music, and even books- in other words, material possessions. This is the truth. Man can transform the simplest trinket into an idol.

1 John 5:18 says:

�We know that anyone born of God does not continue to sin; the one who was born of God keeps him safe, and the evil one cannot harm him.

When I read this passage, it reminded me of the old saying we are born sinners. But fortunately, Jesus Christ died for our sins so that we would be sinners no longer and gain eternal life with him. He protects us from those that would lead us astray to worship such idols. Sure, no one is perfect and everyone sins. But the joy is that Jesus forgives us because we trust and believe in him. He is our Savior.


I don't know. There's just something wrong with it. It sounds more like I'm repeating something I've heard before, which basically I am, instead of interpreting it for myself.

Grrr.

scullerymaid at 6:43 p.m.

pots | pans