September 11, 2005

Endless beauty

Friday I spent the night at my grandma's house. My Granny lives right next door to her so I decided to go visit and I found her picking figs. She said the strangest thing to me.

Tiger Lily, I never realized how beautiful you are. I guess it's because I never see you in the sun, but in my dark house

I was quite taken back by this. It's not everyday, even when it's your great grandmother, that someone says that to you. I was flattered (which I seem to be a lot lately), but it was just a little on the weird side.

I think one day I'll have a fig bush in my yard though, for memory�s sake.

At my cousin's house I watched Sahara, and I don't think I will ever go to Africa. I never wanted to go in the first place, but now I know there is no way I will ever go. All the money in the world couldn't make me consent.

I hate it when I forget things. There's something else I wanted to write about, but for the life of me I can't remember. Oh well, maybe it'll come back to me.

"It's amazing to look out over the sea at night. The horizon is endless"

Edit It seems my picture isn't showing up after all. Technology is so frustrating!

scullerymaid at 5:02 p.m.

pots | pans