September 07, 2005

The bad and the good

Well, it's been two days since school started. I'm actually enjoying it so far:

Business Management
This class is going to be exciting I can tell. The teacher is very nice, and a Christian, and I just really like her. There are going to be some times when I'll have to stand in front of the class, which means sweating palms, stuttering, and shaking hands, but I think I'll survive. She assigned seats.

English 11
My teacher is from someplace in the Caribbean and has this Brittish type- not Jamaican (he was clear about that)- accent. A few of my friends are in this class, and the teacher is all about laughter. When we can laugh at ourselves, and others (without being mean, of course!) then we will enjoy ourselves. It's good to laugh. Seats aren't assigned

Spanish 3
Ah yes, the dreaded class. I must admit, I think over the summer I have forgotten every spanish word I know. And of course this year there will be NO english in the classroom. I can see I'm going to enjoy this class already... But I am sitting next to one of my friends that's going to Greece with me. But I tell ya, the class is full of sophomores! How come we weren't in Spanish 3 last year? (Because they were smart and took spanish in eighth grade)Senora said that she's going to assign seats. Goodbye Greece buddy :(

AP US History
I have the same teacher as last year and there are probably 30 people in my class. This is going to be some interesting chaos. It would be impossible to assign seats!

Chemistry
I like my teacher and there are a lot of familiar faces in my class... and a lot of people. I think I'll enjoy this class. The seats are assigned, but I don't mind

Algebra II
I'm not a big fan of math and hated geometry, but hopefully this year it will be better. I just want to get through it with an A. No assigned seats

Piano Lab
I'd rather deal with Spanish any day! The old teacher had to leave, and I talked to her last year and she made me feel good about the class, but this new teacher is a nightmare. She was yelling before we even sat down. She has very high expectations, and I'm seriously thinking about dropping the class. Maybe I'll try and take another business class, though they're probably all full by now. The woman is just very intimidating, and I'll feel like a failure if I do get out, but I think I have really bitten off more than I can chew this year. I mean, why did I even sign up for piano? I do like to listen to it, but I'm not sure about playing. I just don't think I'm cut out for it, and I know with an attitude like this I won't be, but... I don't know. It was just very disappointing. Seats are kind of assigned.

So, good classes outnumber the bad. And only two classes are far away from my locker. But I really think I'm going to try and drop piano. I really don't know. I have contradicting emotions about it and don't know which one I want to go with. Maybe it's just a lack of confidence, which wouldn't surprise me. (We have recitals, which with the old teacher we only had an end of the year thing, and I'm not so good when put in front of a crowd.

"Sometimes I wish someone would just tell me what to do. But only sometimes"

scullerymaid at 5:43 p.m.

pots | pans