January 19, 2012

Good as gone

Well, it seems too be quite official. I'm moving in two weeks...not with my father into a one bedroom apartment, but with TJ in his house. First week of February will be my last as a resident of Newport News. I was going to live with Dad until April or May- I thought he still needed my half of the rent. For some reason he likes to sleep on the couch so I was just going to take the bedroom and then when I moved out he would take it. Then last night he said I could leave in March if I wanted and he should be able to get by. It seemed awfully silly to me to move my stuff from one apartment to another and then in a month move it all again to TJ's. So I'm just going to move now to TJ's, pay dad for Febraury, and let him go ahead and create his love nest without worrying about me intruding. That we can both just settle where we're going to be and not keep disrupting our lives with moving. Makes sense, yeah?

My only concern is work. I'll still be working at Panera in Newport News for a little bit. Just until I can actually amass a savings and find a new job on the other side of the tunnel. It won't be much different from what I'm already doing. I basically commute now anyway. I changed my availability to do prep Mon-Thurs and occassionally Fri that way...I don't know. I just have it in my mind that will work out better than working every other day, the way I am this week. Ludicrous! February might be a little tight since I'll still be paying rent to dad, but after that everything should be just dandy. Then I'll be able to sit back and just breathe for awhile. What a nice thought.

Oh! And Math might be moving to the other side of the water, too. He bf lives in Virginia Beach and asked her to move in when her lease is up. It sounds crazy because they've only been dating for a month and I feel like she never talks about him, but she'll be over there with me and we can still hang out all the time and escape the boyfriends without driving and driving and driving. If I understood correctly, she'll only be living about 10-15 minutes away. I'm so excited, diary, so excited! Things tend to work out.

I don't know what Atist plans to do and that makes me nervous for her. Both Math and I will be on our side and Popeguy is jumping state...who will she live with? Her current roommate is a disaster so I know she doesn't plan on repeating that again. But where else would she go? I don't know. I hope she's been thinking about it. If she plans on living alone I think she should come to the other side of the water as well. But she already lives an hour away from her bf and that will put her another half hour to an hour away. Wonder if she'll go for it? Guess we'll see.

I need to hurry up and launch my tutoring/translating business! Oh, and I want to get a sewing machine and start doing things on Etsy. That'd be fun!

So much change in such a short period. But it's a good thing.

By the way, on Tuesday Tj drove to Newport News after work to surprise me with ice cream. I'd been craving it al day. We ended up cooking dinner with Artist and Popeguy instead, but the guesture made me smile. Things like that, diary, make me think that we can make it. We may not be the most seemingly affectionate couple, but it's a thing worth nurturing.

scullerymaid at 12:31 p.m.

pots | pans