July 18, 2011

Airplane service

Well, Diary, I walked into The Gourmet Gang on Friday to drop off my application. The woman asked me to wait 15 minutes and she'd interview me. Two hours later I walked out with a job which I started today, three days after the interview. My training doesn't start until next monday, but they said I could come in this week to get some hours. It was great. I really liked it. I'm actually excited to go back tomorrow. They even feed us lunch. How could I complain!

This is the first job I've ever gotten on my own without having a friend or family memeber get my foot in the door. I feel so accomplished, especially since it all happened so fast. Since they wanted me to start immediately, I called Ruby and quit over the phone. That's a little shitty since I did contemplate at least giving them my two weeks, but hey- got to go where the money is, right? And that's what I told them. They'll survive without me.

I'm so excited. I'll be working Mon-Fri 11-7. No weekends! Hopefully it doesn't become too monotonous, but without guaranteed hours like that I can't complain about the pay, which will be better than both Ruby and Panera. Sometimes I just have to remind myself that I'm an adult now, no longer in school, and going to work every day for eight hours is the norm. But I went in today 8-4 and it wasn't bad. Here's to new jobs!

I just have to survive for the next couple weeks before I get paid. Then I can finally relax about money.

I still need to figure out how to defer my student loan payments. Hmmm. Just in case I do go to grad school next year.

scullerymaid at 5:33 p.m.

pots | pans