June 08, 2011

Interpretations

Let me share my day!

I was supposed to be in work at 5 today so I decided to leave an hour early just in case traffic was bad. Around here the rush begins around 4 anyway depending on which way your heading. I decided to be safe than sorry. Ha! Apparently there was a tractor trailer down on the interstate so every road in Newport News was jammed from people getting off. Something about a grass fire. With all the congestion is took me two hours to drive seven miles and I was an hour late to work. Fortunately I called and explained the situation while I was at a stand-still and other people had called too. Lucky me. I hate that I was late though.

My training went swell though. I was actually with Linz, which made me more relaxed but she was in a busy section all alone so it was hectic and if I had sat still long enough to think about it I might have felt overwhelmed. But I loved every minute of it. I'm so glad to be working again. Everyone I've met is friendly so far (a girl actually spoon fed me some salmon today in the middle of dinner) and I think I'm going to like the job. The menu seems extensive but it's not that bad and I'm learning it. The most intimidating part for me is keeping track of who is sitting at which table number and ringing in the orders in the computer. Yes, big shocker there. The computer is going to take me some time. But like I said, I really liked it and think I will excel at waiting. And they sent me home after three hours. I wonder if my other two training days will be as short?

I get my first table on Wednesday. I'm excited. I can do this!

TJ invited me over again this weekend. I'm working Friday and Sunday so we'll only be together Saturday. But I think that's a good thing. You know, that way we aren't always going to expect to hang out every weekend especially now that I'm working. I don't want our relationship to become routine. But if he invited me over, that's still a good sign. I promise one day I'll stop being so doubtful of the blessings in front of me.

Life is very ironic though, I must admit. Remember how earlier today I was complaining about moving to Richmond and contemplating using dad as an excuse not to go? Well tonight when I got hope he was sitting at the kitchen table and asked me to join him. For a few months now he's been looking for a second job so he can afford to live on his own when I move out...but he hasn't received any calls back. So basically my prayers have been answered and he asked me to live with him again, at least for a little while and maybe he'll be able to find a job and then I can go off with SB in Richmond or get a place on my own.

When he asked me this, I felt both relieved and panicked. Relieved because it truly is the perfect reason to stay in Newport News. How can I deny my father? But I feel panicked because as much as I've been ranting about not wanting to go, I figured I would be going anyway. I can't just abandon SB like that, especially with my roommate track record. What did I say about restoring honor?! So now I really don't know what to do. Yes, I would love to stay here and I feel bad for my dad, but I feel bad for SB too. Like I said, she doesn't know anyone in Richmond. How is she going to find a roommate at such short notice. Maybe I'll just sit down and talk with her and see what she says...

Ugh, I wish I wasn't here right now.

I made fish tacos tonight for dinner when I got home. This time I used perch instead of tilapia and I must say I don't like perch. The mint mayo was delicious though. That is def staying in my recipe book. I wonder what else it would taste good with besides fish tacos?

scullerymaid at 11:21 p.m.

pots | pans