April 17, 2011

Brian "Swerve" Herrmann

Last night a boy from my school, a popluar athlete, was killed in a car accident. he was a basketball player. He was in my friend SB's class. He worked in the dining hall with my dad. I've never met this boy before, but I've seen him a hundred times over the past four years. I never knew his name until tonight.

He's not the first student at my school that has died, and yet his death seems to have grabbed onto my psyche. I just saw him the day before yesterday. Two days ago I saw him alive and breathing, laughing and joking. I've seen him a hundred times. And now he's...just gone. I'll never seen him again. I didn't even know him, he didn't know me, but I can't stop thinking about how I'll never see him again. Because he died. He died just like that. He didn't know he was going to die. I didn't know he was going to die. It just happened. And I can't stop thinking about it.

I wonder how he spent his Saturday. Was he at a party? I've heard rumors that drinking was involved in the accident. I hope he at least had a quick death and didn't suffer too much.

I don't know why I keep thinking about him. I didn't even know him. I just passed him by here and there on my way to and from class. I did glance at his facebook today though and it gave me the hibbie jibbies.

I think maybe I'll light a candle for him. Then maybe his spirit will leave me alone.

A lot of people died in the tornado yesterday too. Maybe it's the collective feeing of death that's bothering me and not his alone.

scullerymaid at 11:41 p.m.

pots | pans